Skip to main content

IGAD Media Awards 2024

Welcome to the 2nd Edition of the IGAD Media Awards, a platform dedicated to celebrating excellence in journalism and media production in the Horn of Africa.

In this edition, our spotlight is on Peace and Security. We invite journalists, storytellers, and media professionals from across the IGAD countries to submit their pieces, delving into the complexities of peace and security issues with the overarching theme, “Narratives of Hope: Inspiring Peaceful, Secure, and Inclusive Futures.

Who can participate?

The awards are open to all practicing journalists, as well as freelancers, working in mainstream media or multimedia outlets from the 8 IGAD countries and who are citizens of one of the IGAD member countries: Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, and Uganda.

Foreign media practitioners can also participate.

For more details on the rules and regulations, please click on the link

For further clarifications on the competition, please email

No entry fee is required.

Competition Group

Journalists are invited to submit original pieces and content of their work that highlight the Narratives of Hope: Inspiring Peaceful, secure and inclusive Futures, which can come in many shapes and forms.


Winners will receive an invitation to a one-day training session covering IGAD’s mandate, programmes, challenges, and accomplishments. This session also offers a chance for networking with colleagues and drought centres of excellence.

Additionally, winners will be granted accreditation to participate in select major IGAD events through a journalists’ accreditation process. This grants winning media professionals access to IGAD assemblies, content, and expert insights.

Furthermore, winners will receive certificates and token prizes as recognition of their achievement.

To partner with us during the IGAD Media Awards

Partners interested in joining this initiative may contact







National Language

Lifetime Achievement Award


For more details