Skip to main content
Theme: “Narratives of Hope: Inspiring Peaceful, secure and inclusive Futures“


Engaging the media and keeping them informed through robust communication and participation have been given due emphasis as one of the corner stones of IGAD Communication Strategy. Building strategic partnerships with the media is deemed critical to the successful attainment of the IGAD Vision – “A resilient, peaceful, prosperous and integrated region where citizens enjoy high quality of life”. The media in the IGAD member countries, and beyond, play a critical role in raising awareness of the opportunities and benefits of multilateralism and regional approach to address the shared challenges, risks, and threats.

The critical role of media is also recognised by the initiatives from the IGAD Executive Secretary, Dr Workneh Gebeyehu, in terms of establishing a fully-fledged Communication Unit at the regional organisation’s Secretariat and a Spokesperson’s position.


Through the IGAD Media Awards, the regional organisation and partners intend to:

  • Recognise and reward excellence in reporting on matters related to peace and security.
  • Inspire journalists in the region and beyond to report more on matters surrounding peace in the region;
  • Promote accurate reporting and investigative journalism as well as creativity and innovation in presenting information about peace, and security; and
  • Encourage media practitioners to involve centres of excellence in science, technology and innovation from inside and outside the region to shed light on persistent and frequent peace and associated security concerns in the region.


The IGAD Media Awards 2024 is meant to promote increased, factual and accurate reporting on peace and security in particular, while the Media Awards initiative as a whole is destined to foster relations with media, promote journalism in the region and increase visibility of IGAD broadly.

Frequency of the Event

The IGAD Media Awards is an annual occurrence held once every year, starting from 2023.

Target Group

The Awards are open to all practicing journalists as well as freelancers in the mainstream media, multi-media outlets from the 8 IGAD countries and are citizens of one of the IGAD member countries: Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan and Uganda.

The awards are also open to foreign media practitioners who can participate in under the foreign media window below.

For more details on the rules and regulations click on the link For further clarifications on the competition, kindly email No entry fee is required.

IGAD Media Awards 2023

The 2nd edition of the IGAD Media Awards is open for submissions between April 9 and June 31, 2024. The Awards Ceremony will be held in September this year.

Competition Group

Journalists are invited to submit original pieces and content of their work that highlight the Narratives of Hope: Inspiring Peaceful, secure and inclusive Futures, which can come in many shapes and forms.


  • Winning particpants will be invited to a two-day training session on IGAD mandate, programmes, achievements and challenges, which also consitutes a networking opportuinity with peers and with drought centres of excellence.
  • Invitation to participate in some IGAD major events through a journalists’ accreditation process to IGAD. This will also provide winning media practitionners the opportunity to participate in IGAD gatherings, and access content and experts.
  • Certificate and token prizes.

Awards Ceremony 

Winning participants will be recognised during a ceremony at the closing of the training workshop to be held in October 2024.

To partner with us during the IGAD Media Awards

Partners interested in joining this initiative may contact and between June 01 and August 31, 2024.

Entries/Awards Categories

Entries shall consist of the following:





Best female reporter


National Language

Life-time Achievement Award


Our Partners

For more details